Gomez Wins Outstanding Jockey Award at Breeders' Cup

Gomez Wins Outstanding Jockey Award at Breeders' Cup
Photo: Anne M. Eberhardt
Garrett Gomez celebrates in the Winner's Circle after winning the 2007 Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies with Indian Blessing.

Garrett Gomez was named the 2007 recipient of the AIG Bill Shoemaker Award, presented to the outstanding jockey in the Breeders’ Cup World Championships at Monmouth Park Oct. 26-27, as voted on by the international media covering the event. It is the second time Gomez has won the award since it was established in 2003.

A 35-year-old native of Tucson, Ariz., Gomez rode two winners Oct. 27 in the 24th edition of the Breeders’ Cup at Monmouth Park, guiding Indian Blessing to victory in the $2 million Grey Goose Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies (gr. I) and Midnight Lute in the $2 million TVG Breeders’ Cup Sprint (gr. I). He also finished third aboard Octave in the $2 million Emirates Airline Breeders’ Cup Distaff (gr. I).

The two victories increased Gomez’ Breeders’ Cup total to four. His mounts have earned $7,047,750, 13th-best all-time.

Gomez was presented the Shoemaker Award during the Oct. 27 ESPN telecast of the Breeders’ Cup. The next day, he rode Spring House to win Oak Tree's $111,300 Carleton F. Burke Handicap (gr. IIIT) on the Santa Anita turf.

Previous Shoemaker Award winners include Alex Solis (2003), John Velazquez (2004), Gomez (2005), and Frankie Dettori (2006).

Breeders’ Cup Jockey Facts

*  No rider has won three Breeders' Cup races on a single card.

*  Four riders picked up their first Breeders’ Cup victories in 2007. They were Elvis Trujillo (Maryfield, Filly & Mare Sprint), Julien Leparoux (Nownownow, Juvenile Turf), Alan Garcia (Lahudood, Filly & Mare Turf) and Robby Albarado (Curlin, Classic).

*  Eighteen riders have combined to win two Breeders' Cup races on a single card 29 times. Mike Smith has done it four times (1994, 1995, 1997 and 2002). Jerry Bailey did it three times (1995, 1999 and 2000). Five riders have captured two races on a single card twice: Pat Day (1987, 1994), Eddie Delahoussaye (1992, 1993), Patrick Valenzuela (1991, 1992), John Velazquez (2002, 2004) and Garrett Gomez (2005, 2007). Other riders with two Cup victories on a single card are Jorge Chavez (1999), Angel Cordero Jr. (1988), Frankie Dettori (2006),  Chris McCarron (1992), Corey Nakatani (1996), Laffit Pincay Jr. (1986), Edgar Prado (2005), Jose Santos (1990), Alex Solis (2003), Gary Stevens (1998), Cornelio Velasquez (2007),  and Jorge Velasquez (1985).

*  Twenty riders have posted Breeders' Cup victories in consecutive years. The longest such streak belongs to Jerry Bailey, who won races in six consecutive years (1998-2003). Bailey also had a four-year run (1993-96). Corey Nakatani (1996-99) and Mike Smith (1992-95) are the only other riders with four-year streaks. Six riders won Breeders' Cup races in three consecutive years. They are Pat Day (1997-99), Eddie Delahoussaye (1991-93), Mick Kinane (2001-03), Laffit Pincay Jr. (1988-90), Randy Romero (1987-89) and Gary Stevens (1998-2000). Pincay (1985-86) and Stevens (1993-94) also had two-year streaks. Ten other riders had two-year streaks. Chris McCarron had three such runs (1988-89, 1995-96 and 2000-01) and Patrick Valenzuela did it twice (1986-87 and 1991-92). Other riders with two-year runs were Angel Cordero Jr. (1988-89), Kieren Fallon (2003-04), David Flores (2003-04), Walter Guerra (1984-85), Freddie Head (1987-88), Craig Perret (1989-90), Edgar Prado (2005-06), Jose Santos (1986-87), and Shane Sellers (1997-98).

*  Ten riders won with their first Breeders' Cup mounts. They are Javier Castellano (Ghostzapper, 2004 Classic), Alan Garcia (Lahudood, 2007 Filly & Mare Turf), Walter Guerra (Outstandingly, 1984 Juvenile Fillies), Don MacBeth (Chief's Crown, 1984 Juvenile), John Murtagh (Ridgewood Pearl, 1995 Mile), Craig Perret (Eillo, 1984 Sprint), Yves Saint-Martin (Lashkari, 1984 Turf), Ray Sibille (Great Communicator, 1988 Turf), Thierry Thulliez (Domedriver, 2002 Mile), and Elvis Trujillo (Maryfield, 2007 Filly & Mare Sprint).

*  Ray Sibille (Great Communicator, 1988 Turf) and Alan Garcia (Lahudood, 2007 Filly & Mare Sprint) are the only riders to have won a Breeders' Cup race with their only mount.

Most Popular Stories