Mystery Classic Named Texas' Best
Photo: Darren Rogers
Five-time stakes winner Mystery Classic has been named the 2007 Texas Horse of the Year.

John Pierce's homebred Mystery Classic, a winner of five consecutive stakes last year, will be honored as the 2007 Texas Horse of the Year and champion older horse by the Texas Thoroughbred Association. Mystery Classic is trained by Robert Schultz.

Five other Texas-bred runners will be recognized as divisional champions for their achievements during the past year, as well as the state's top broodmare and claimer. The winners will be honored at the TTA awards banquet at the Doubletree Hotel in Austin Jan. 19.

Carl Nafzger, trainer of Kentucky Derby winners Unbridled and Street Sense, will be the keynote speaker, and the event will be hosted by longtime racing personality Chris Lincoln.

The other 2007 Texas divisional champions are as follows:

Gold Coyote, 2-year-old male
Owner/breeder: Clarence Scharbauer Jr. of Valor Farm
Trainer: Bret Calhoun

Valid Lilly, 2-year-old female
Owner: Bill and Corinne Heiligbrodt’s Heiligbrodt Racing Stable
Trainer: Steve Asmussen

Breeder: Bullard Farms and Little Brother Farm

Datrick, 3-year-old male
Owner/breeder: Bill and Corinne Heiligbrodt’s Heiligbrodt Racing Stable
Trainer: Steve Asmussen

Wrenice, 3-year-old female
Owner/breeder: Stewart Hamblen
Trainer: Randy Mayfield
Victory Pool, older female
Owner: Everett Novack’s New Farm
Trainer: Benjamin Perkins
Breeder: Art and Stephanie Preston's L O R Stables

Kristy’s Regency, broodmare
Owner: John Pierce
Breeder: Smithgate Farm (Ontario)

Angry Angel, claimer 
Owner: Henry Witt
Trainer Charlotte Bronstad
Breeder: Richland Ranch and Sue Cook

Most Popular Stories