Florida-bred Champions Announced

Florida-bred Champions Announced
Photo: Jeffrey Snyder
Ginger Punch, winner of the 2007 Breeders' Cup Distaff (gr. I), heads the list of Florida divisional champions.

From the Florida Thoroughbred Breeders' and Owners' Association

The 2007 Florida-bred champions have been determined by the Florida Thoroughbred Breeders' and Owners' Association "Chase to the Championship."

Collectively, the group accounted for 16 stakes wins, 12 which were graded, including seven grade I victories at racetracks across the country.

This year's Florida divisional champions are as follows:

Wicked Style, 2-year-old male
Owner: Ashbrook Farm
Trainer: George Arnold
Breeder: Adena Springs                                  

Set Play, 2-year-old female
Owner: Gerson Racing & Charleville
Trainer: Peter Miller
Breeder: Carolin Von Rosenberg      

Going Ballistic, 3-year-old male
Owner: Kindred Thoroughbreds
Trainer: Donnie Von Hemmel
Breeder: Adena Springs                                  

Dearest Trickski, 3-year-old filly
Owner: Tom Mankiewicz
Trainer: John Sadler
Breeder: Dr. K.K. and V. Devi Jayaraman 

Benny the Bull, older male and sprinter
Owner: IEAH Stables, et al
Trainer: Richard Dutrow
Breeder: Tomoka Farms Inc.             

Ginger Punch, older female
Owner: Stronach Stables
Trainer: Bobby Frankel      
Breeder: Adena Springs                                  

Soldier’s Dancer, turf horse
Owner: Herman Heinlein
Trainer: David Vivien
Breeder: Franks Farm

The Florida-bred champions are determined by points accumulated during the year-long FTBOA Chase to the Championship. In the case of ties by points, the tie-breaker is most money earned. The Horse of the Year and leading breeder, as well as other awards, are determined by the FTBOA board of directors and year-end statistics.

The Florida-bred champions, as well as their breeders, owners, and trainers, and all other award winners will be honored at the annual FTBOA awards dinner Feb. 10 at the Ocala Hilton in Ocala.

Most Popular Stories