At Thursday's quarterly meeting of the Churchill Downs Inc. board of directors, director Brad M. Kelley announced his intention not to stand for re-election to the board on June 19, 2003. Kelley cited demands on his time in connection with current business commitments and related travel as reasons for the decision. The board chose not to fill the position and amended the company's bylaws to establish the number of directors at 14. The other directors standing for re-election are Leonard S. Coleman Jr., Craig J. Duchossois, G. Watts Humphrey Jr., and Dennis D. Swanson. "We appreciate Brad's guidance of the company as a board member and understand the competing demands presented by his own business obligations," said Thomas H. Meeker, CDI's president and chief executive officer. "We are grateful for his three years of service and his continued support of our company as a shareholder."... Joe Harper, president and CEO of the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club, was elected president of the Thoroughbred Racing Associations at the annual board of directors meeting Thursday in Hollywood, Fla. Harper, who has headed Sel Mar since 1978, succeeds Fair Grounds president Bryan G. Krantz, who completed his two-year term. The TRA board also elected New York Racing Associations president and CEO Terence J. Meyocks and Lone Star Park president Corey Johnsen as vice presidents.

Most Popular Stories