Eclipse Voting Made Unanimous for Zenyatta

Eclipse Voting Made Unanimous for Zenyatta
Photo: Jonathan Moore
Jerry and Ann Moss, owners of Zenyatta, accept the Eclipse award for champion older female.

The three presenting organizations of the Eclipse Awards- the NTRA, Daily Racing Form, and the National Turf Writers Association (NTWA)- announced today that voting in the 2009 older female category will be officially revised to correct an error made by one of the voters.  The error caused Zenyatta to win the older female category by a count of 231-1, rather than by a unanimous 232-0 margin.

Duke Dosik of Daily Racing Form said he fully intended to vote for Zenyatta in the older female category, but he inadvertently voted for Icon Project in that category, while Zenyatta was not listed among his top three finalists.  Dosik listed Zenyatta as his selection for Horse of the Year.

“There is no way I meant to do anything but put Zenyatta on top,” said Dosik.  

The revised voting tabulation means that both Zenyatta and Rachel Alexandra won 2009 Eclipse Awards by unanimous 232-0 vote counts.   

Most Popular Stories