Biofuel Named Canada's Horse of Year for 2010

Biofuel Named Canada's Horse of Year for 2010
Photo: Michael Burns
The Biofuel team accepts the Horse of the Year trophy. (L-R) Trainer Reade Baker, Jockey Eurico Rosa da Silva, Presenter Jim Lawson, Breeder/Owner Bereton Jones, and Assistant Trainer Leroy Trotman.

Brereton Jones’ homebred filly Biofuel, winner of four stakes at Woodbine in 2010, was named Canada’s Horse of the Year April 1 during the Sovereign Awards presentations at Woodbine.

Biofuel, a Kentucky-bred by Stormin Fever, won four of six starts last year at 3. In Canada, she won the Selene Stakes (Can-III), and in the United States, Biofuel finished second in the Coaching Club American Oaks and third in the Mother Goose Stakes (both gr. I) at Belmont Park.

Biofuel, trained by Reade Baker, also won the Sovereign Award for champion 3-year-old filly.

Other familiar names won awards, including Sam-Son Farms (outstanding owner) and Adena Springs (outstanding breeder). Adena, along with outstanding apprentice jockey Omar Moreno, also won 2010 Eclipse Awards in the U.S.

The late Robert Anderson, who died last November, was named winner of the E.P. Taylor Award of Merit.

Anderson was president of Anderson Farms, which bred more than 1,400 Thoroughbreds and raised numerous Thoroughbred and Standardbred champions.

Anderson was a director of Woodbine Entertainment Group since 1984, serving as chairman of the WEG Thoroughbred Racing Committee and the Avelino Gomez Memorial Foundation. He was also a past president of the Canadian Thoroughbred Horse Society Ontario Division; a member of the board of directors of the Hambletonian Society; a board member of the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association; and a member of the Jockey Club of Canada.

Here is a list of 2010 Sovereign Award winners:

Biofuel, horse of the year and champion 3-year-old filly

Grand Adventure, champion male turf horse

Miss Keller, champion female turf horse

Hollywood Hit, champion male sprinter

Indian Apple Is, champion female sprinter

Sand Cove, champion older male horse

Impossible Time, champion older female

Big Red Mike, champion 3-year-old male

Madman Diaries, champion 2-year-old male

Delightful Mary, champion 2-year-old filly

Destroy, outstanding broodmare

Adena Springs, outstanding breeder

Sam-Son Farms, outstanding owner

Roger Attfield, outstanding trainer

Eurico Rose Da Silva, outstanding jockey

Omar Moreno, outstanding apprentice jockey

Tod Marks, outstanding photograph

CBC Television Network, outstanding film/video/broadcast

Beverley Smith, outstanding newspaper story

Perry Lekfo, outstanding feature story

Most Popular Stories