Black Caviar Aussie Racehorse of the Year
Photo: Mark Gatt
Black Caviar

Undefeated Black Caviar was named Australian Racehorse of the Year during a Sept. 17 awards ceremony.

According to the Australian Associated Press, Black Caviar received 301 of a maximum 318 votes. So You Think, a two-time winner of the Cox Plate (Aust-I), finished second in the voting with 208 votes.

Votes are accepted from senior racing administrators and members of the racing media under a 3-2-1 format.

The news outlet also reported Black Caviar’s trainer, Peter Moody, was named leading group I trainer with nine victories, and her jockey, Luke Nolen, was named leading group I-winning jockey with eight wins.

Black Caviar, a 5-year-old Australian-bred mare by Bel Esprit—Helsinge, also earned the sprint title unanimously. Owned by Wilkie, Werrett Bloodstock, Madden, Hawkes, and Taylor, Black Caviar is 13-for-13 with six group I wins and U.S.$3,461,783 in earnings.

Most Popular Stories