Thayer, Willmott Elected to Jockey Club Board

Stella Thayer and Peter Willmott have been elected to the board of stewards of The Jockey Club, filling the expired positions of Dell Hancock and D.G. Van Clief Jr., both of whom served four-year terms.

Thayer, a member of The Jockey Club since 2004, is president and treasurer of Tampa Bay Downs in Florida and president of the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame. In 1999, she became the first female president of the Thoroughbred Racing Associations, and she serves as a director of the Thoroughbred Racing Associations and of the Thoroughbred Racing Protective Bureau.

Willmott, a member of The Jockey Club since 2008, is chairman of the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association. He has been a Thoroughbred owner for nearly 25 years, racing in the name of both Willmott Stables and, with his cousin Thomas, Waterfalls Stable.

Most Popular Stories