Derby, Preakness Winners Make Mark in Belmont
Photo: Chad Harmon
Preakness winner Oxbow finished 2nd in the Belmont Stakes.

Though Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (gr. I) winner Orb   and Preakness Stakes (gr. I) winner Oxbow   did not manage to get the money in the $1 million Belmont Stakes (gr. I) won by Palace Malice   June 8 at Belmont Park, they combined for a statistic that is difficult to achieve.

In 145 editions of the Belmont, the Derby and Preakness winners have both finished in the top three just 11 times. This year, Oxbow was 3 1/4 lengths back in second, while Orb ran one length behind him in third.

The last time a Derby and Preakness winner both hit the board was in 2001, when Preakness winner Point Given   took the Belmont and Derby winner Monarchos finished third.

In 1994, Preakness winner Tabasco Cat won and Derby winner Go for Gin was second. In 1991, Preakness winner Hansel won and Derby winner Strike the Gold finished second.

From there, it's a large gap back to 1975, when Derby winner Foolish Pleasure finished second and Preakness winner Master Derby was third.

Derby winner Chateaugay took the Belmont and Preakness winner Candy Spots was second in 1963. In 1956, Derby winner Needles won the Belmont and Preakness winner Fabius was third.

Preakness winner Capot took the 1949 Belmont, beating Derby winner Ponder in second. Derby winner Shut Out won the 1942 Belmont with Preakness winner Alsab the runner-up.

And all the way back in 1877, Preakness winner Cloverbrook took the Test of the Champion while Derby winner Baden Baden was third.

Most Popular Stories