TOBA to Honor Owners, Breeders at Dinner
The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association will honor numerous owners and breeders at its 28th Annual National Awards Dinner Sept. 6 at Fasig-Tipton in Lexington.
The following regional owners will be honored:
Eastern Region Owner of the Year: Godolphin
Midwestern Region Owner of the Year: John and Debby Oxley
Southern Region Owner of the Year: Brereton C. Jones
Western Region Owner of the Year: Reddam Racing
A National Owner of the Year will be selected from the regional owners and revealed at the dinner.
The following state and Canadian breeders will be honored:
Triple AAA Ranch (Arizona)
Terry C. Lovingier (California)
William D. Graham (Canada)
Ocala Stud (Florida)
Team Block (Illinois)
Michael E. and Penny S. Lauer (Indiana)
Allen Poindexter (Iowa)
Morton Fink (Kentucky)
Coteau Grove Farms (Louisiana)
Dr. and Mrs. Thomas Bowman (Maryland)
Patricia Moseley (Massachusetts)
Campbell Stable (Michigan)
Richard Bremer and Cheryl Sprick (Minnesota)
Gunsmith Stables (New Jersey)
Triple AAA Ranch (New Mexico)
Barry K. Schwartz (New York)
Nancy C. Shuford (North Carolina)
Leon and Karen Glasser (North Dakota)
Jack and Margaret Root (Oregon)
Franklin G. Smith (South Carolina)
Audley Farm Equine (Virginia)
Karl Krieg (Washington)
TOBA's National Breeder and National Small Breeder of the Year will be announced at the dinner.
In other awards, TOBA will honor Gary Biszantz with the Industry Service Award. Biszantz, who owns Cobra Farm, served for four years as TOBA chairman and for six years on the American Graded Stakes Committee. In 1999 Biszantz was elected into membership of The Jockey Club; formerly served on the board of directors of Breeders' Cup; and was a past director of the Thoroughbred Owners of California.
Biszantz served on the board of Thoroughbred Charities of America for several years and is a past recipient of the TCA Industry Service Award. He owns Tranquility Farm, a Thoroughbred rehabilitation and retraining facility in California.
TOBA will also honor Lisa Danielle, dam of 2012 Horse of the Year Wise Dan, as the National Broodmare of the Year. The award offers catalog designation from the North American International Cataloguing Standards Committee.
Owned by Alex Jayne, successful competitive show jumper Thomas Edison will be named the Rood & Riddle Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year. The award is presented to the owner of the ex-Thoroughbred racehorse that has excelled in sport horse competitions as tracked by the United States Equestrian Federation.
National Awards Dinner sponsors are OCD Pellets, Xpressbet, Kendall-Jackson Wine Estates, Woodford Reserve, John Deere, Stoll Keenon Ogden PLLC, Flair Nasal Strips, Fasig-Tipton, Daily Racing Form, and Blood-Horse Publications.
Tickets for the National Awards Dinner may be purchased at

Most Popular Stories