Canadian Hall of Fame Honors Early TC Winners

Canadian Hall of Fame Honors Early TC Winners
Photo: Michael Burns
Canadian Champ
Woodbine Entertainment Group and the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame announced July 3 the grandfathering of five winners of the Triple Crown series.
Queensway (1932), Archworth (1939), Uttermost (1945), Ace Marine (1955), and Canadian Champ (1956) now join the seven Triple Crown winners of the modern era.
The declaration came at a July 3 reception hosted by the David C. Onley, lieutenant governor of Ontario, at Queen's Park.
Canada's Triple Crown, launched in 1959, is comprised of the Queen's Plate Stakes, of which the 155th edition of the race will be run on July 6 at Woodbine, the Prince of Wales Stakes at Fort Erie, and the Breeders' Stakes on turf at Woodbine.
The five added Triple Crown winners join New Providence (1959), Canebora (1963), With Approval (1989), Izvestia (1990), Dance Smartly (1991), Peteski (1993), and Wando (2003), who also all swept the series.
"This is an historic day for Canadian Thoroughbred racing," said Nick Eaves, president and CEO for Woodbine Entertainment Group. "The five new names added to the roll call of Triple Crown winners are giants in the sport. By winning the three races which constitute the Triple Crown, they should be acknowledged as Triple Crown heroes, like their contemporary legends."

Most Popular Stories